Last night, March 11, 2020, President Trump announced a travel ban impacting Europeans traveling to the United States. The ban applies to those “physically present” within the Schengen Area during the 14-day period preceding their entry into the United States.  The President, in his speech last night, said the ban would last 30 days. But the proclamation does not say that, it says only that it shall remain in effect until terminated by the President.

As a general rule the travel ban announced last night by President Trump suspends travel for nonimmigrants (e.g., Es, Hs, Ls) for those “physically present” in countries in the Schengen Area (see country list below). The ban does not apply to lawful permanent residents, immediate family members of U.S. citizens and certain other individuals.

The President’s proclamation banning travel to the United States goes into effect at midnight this Friday (March 13, 2020)

Here is a link to the Department of Homeland Security announcement (click hereand here is a link to the Presidential Proclamation (click here).

Schengen Area: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.